Apple Mail 4.1: Column arrangement doesn’t ‘stick’ in search view

I love Apple Mail but one thing drives me nuts: the fact that displayed columns do not ‘stick’ when in Mail search mode.

For example, when I type anything into the search box in Mail, the search results only include the Mailbox, Status, From, Subject and Date Received columns.

Every single time I search, I always have to manually turn on the “attachments” and “size” column, which I find very useful in quickly scanning a list to find the mail I’m looking for (which is invariably the one with the large attachment).

In previous versions of Mail, I’m sure that displayed columns DID stick between searches — it is functionality that was lost in Mail for OS X 10.5, and the deficiency seems to have carried through to 10.6.

Please fix it, Apple!! (And yes, I have submitted this to Apple directly as feedback via the inbuilt Mail function for doing so, but am also publishing it here in case anyone knows a solution and can suggest it to me…!)

15 thoughts on “Apple Mail 4.1: Column arrangement doesn’t ‘stick’ in search view

  1. Duncan Banks

    Dan – interesting as I don't have suffer from this problem using Mac Mail. The column configuration when viewing mail is exactly the same when searching…

  2. Duncan Banks

    Dan – interesting as I don't have suffer from this problem using Mac Mail. The column configuration when viewing mail is exactly the same when searching…

  3. Duncan Banks

    Dan – interesting as I don't have suffer from this problem using Mac Mail. The column configuration when viewing mail is exactly the same when searching…

  4. Anonymous

    Verrry interesting. It's an Apple conspiracy against me!!! Or time to delete my Apple Mail preferences and start again perhaps…! Thanks for letting me know Troy… hope you are well :->

  5. Dan Post author

    Verrry interesting. It's an Apple conspiracy against me!!! Or time to delete my Apple Mail preferences and start again perhaps…! Thanks for letting me know Troy… hope you are well :->

  6. Mattaym

    Though I’ve always loved Apple, this has always given me a problem. However, I’ve got to admit: the new update seems to have fixed it! I’d recommend upgrading. 🙂

  7. Marc azada

    I love using apple too, but I don’t have any problems like that happening in my gadgets. I just hope that doesn’t happen to me in the future.

  8. Marc azada

    I love using apple too, but I don’t have any problems like that happening in my gadgets. I just hope that doesn’t happen to me in the future.

  9. Marc azada

    I love using apple too, but I don’t have any problems like that happening in my gadgets. I just hope that doesn’t happen to me in the future.

Leave a Reply

