HOW TO: disable multitouch rotation in Photoshop CS4 for Mac

Adobe’s implementation of multitouch features in Photoshop CS4 for Mac is very annoying… although multitouch ‘pinch’ zoom is useful, the multitouch rotation, which is extremely sensitive, isn’t.

When you try to zoom (or even if you’re accidentally touching the trackpad with two fingers) Photoshop often rotates the canvas by a few degrees or more — and there seems to be no easy way to set it back to straight without painstakingly using the multitouch rotation tool again. In short: this “feature” really gets in the way of getting work done.

If you find this annoying, like I did, you can download a plugin that Adobe has made available that disables multitouch functions in Photoshop CS4.

You can download it here:
http://www.adobe.com/support/downloads/detail.jsp?ftpID=4337

To install it, open the disk image that downloads, and drag the plugin to your Applications > Photoshop > Plugins folder, and restart Photoshop.

Unfortunately it disables ALL multitouch actions, so you lose the multitouch zoom as well, but in my opinion getting rid of the annoying multitouch rotate is a greater advantage than the loss of multitouch zoom.

6 thoughts on “HOW TO: disable multitouch rotation in Photoshop CS4 for Mac

  1. Ted

    Thank you! The mercurial and random rotates almost made me regret getting a macbook pro! Now I can get back to work as per norma..

  2. Ted

    Thank you! The mercurial and random rotates almost made me regret getting a macbook pro! Now I can get back to work as per norma..

  3. Ted

    Thank you! The mercurial and random rotates almost made me regret getting a macbook pro! Now I can get back to work as per norma..

  4. etab

    thanks for that tip!anyway, one can use the multitouch zoom by pressing “alt” and sliding with to fingers on the trackpad … without the “alt” and sliding with two fingers it scrolls the image

  5. andrew

    Just a quick thing that I just discovered. I know it isn't ideal, but I do love the multi touch zoom so I tried to find a way around it. Saving your document, closing it and re opening it straightens out the canvas. As I said, not ideal, but it works for me.

  6. Rodjames

    As for me, the multi touch is cool but my wife finds it annoying. And so, the boss will get what she wants! Disable the multitouch rotation, of course!

Leave a Reply

