It’s official: cords are taking over my life

Do I have an abnormally high number of cords, or has the industry just failed miserably at “going wireless”?

cords-yikes

Pictured:

  • Dithered-out blur: black box of origin that I can’t disclose (pre-release product)
  • Billion 7404VGP-M modem for my home naked ADSL2+ broadband and VoIP (iiNet)
  • Virgin Broadband modem that I’m reviewing (again, since they say the network is improved now)
  • Apple Time Capsule
  • Belkin Powerline networking adaptor to allow my Lexmark e120n printer to be networked from the other side of the room (read my blog post about it)
  • 2 x MacBook Pro power packs
  • 1 x powerpack for my Oricom M5500 landline phone with DECT built in (2 additional handsets)
  • Bose QC3 headphones charger
  • Blackberry charger

It became such a jungle down there next to the sofa that I had to buy one of those Dymo machines to label the cords and powerpacks.

4 Replies to “It’s official: cords are taking over my life”

  1. I also bought a Dymo for this very reason. You'd think the manufacturers would specify the device on the DC adapter, but so often they don't . One could also say that the realestate LCD/Plasma screens returned to us, these components have slowly stolen back.

  2. I also bought a Dymo for this very reason. You'd think the manufacturers would specify the device on the DC adapter, but so often they don't . One could also say that the realestate LCD/Plasma screens returned to us, these components have slowly stolen back.

  3. I think it's because they buy the adaptors wholesale from cheap OEMs. I mean, they don't even bother to put their brand on the adaptor most of the time — it's usually “KMY” brand or something.

  4. I think it's because they buy the adaptors wholesale from cheap OEMs. I mean, they don't even bother to put their brand on the adaptor most of the time — it's usually “KMY” brand or something.

Leave a Reply

