World’s best spaghetti bolognese recipe

Perfected by me over 15 years.The perfect balance between of ease of cooking with pantry/fridge-common ingredients and rich tomatoey goodness.

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 punnet ground beef (the Woolworths organic minced beef tastes best)
  • 1 big white or brown onion (sliced)
  • 2 big cooking carrots (grated)
  • 2 zucchinis (grated)
  • 500g pre-sliced mushrooms
  • 1 heaped teaspoon prechopped garlic from a jar
  • half teaspoon prechopped chilli from a jar
  • 1 beef stock cube (dissolved in hot water)
  • generous shake of salt
  • 1 jar tomato passata
  • 1 800g tin of tomatos
  • big shake of dried oregano (e.g. two heaped dessert spoons)
  • big shake of dried parsley (e.g. two heaped dessert spoons)
  • big shake of dried basil (e.g. two heaped dessert spoons)

METHOD

  • grate carrots and zucchinis, put to the side
  • Fry up onions till soft
  • Fry up meat till well browned (with onions)
  • Put everything else in!
  • Simmer till the ingredients of the sauce seem ‘saucy’ and well integrated. Usually takes 1 to 2 hrs. Make sure you stir often so it doesn’t stick.

Serve with al-dente pasta (thin spaghetti or regular spaghetti), grated parmesan cheese and optionally, good quality crusty bread and butter.Good luck!!! It’s a pretty fail-safe recipe.

14 thoughts on “World’s best spaghetti bolognese recipe

  1. Eve

    Looks yummy and I’m going to try it, but I’d review your instructions re the dried herbs… A big shake of dried oregano does not equal two heaped dessert sp0ons. I’d stick with the big shake πŸ™‚

  2. Eve

    Looks yummy and I’m going to try it, but I’d review your instructions re the dried herbs… A big shake of dried oregano does not equal two heaped dessert sp0ons. I’d stick with the big shake πŸ™‚

  3. danwarne

    Thanks Eve! πŸ™‚

    I must point out that a generous shake takes on a different meaning depending on whether the jar has the little holey plastic lid thingy still on it or not. I shake straight from the jar, with no restrainer πŸ˜‰

  4. danwarne Post author

    Thanks Eve! πŸ™‚

    I must point out that a generous shake takes on a different meaning depending on whether the jar has the little holey plastic lid thingy still on it or not. I shake straight from the jar, with no restrainer πŸ˜‰

  5. Joe

    Good recipe but to much food from jars and cans, it's best to reduce the amount of ingredients used so as to get a more balanced and concentrated flavour but make sure that you use the best quality and freshest ingredients that you can. And make sure that you drain the fat from the pan after browning the meat otherwise the bolognese sauce is too greasy.

  6. Linden

    al dente means just cooked or not soft btw and this is not a bolognese recipie in any sense, its just a random mixture of italian style ingredients.the celery!!! and all that dried processed herbs and stock lol, chilli etc

  7. Libby

    I don't notice any celery Linden in the recipe – you know, I had my suspicions that it would be gross with all the dried herbs too, but this is actually a very rich, yummy sauce, sweetened a little by the veges without the need for sugar. Real stock is a good addition, as are of course real chopped garlic and herbs, but for a busy day when the cupboard and fridge are almost bare, this one is always a winner – and a great budget meal too. I think Dan means serve with thin spaghetti, cooked to al-dente. It's definitely cooked al-dente when he serves it up for me, and I tell you what, it certainly IS the worlds best bol in my mind!!

  8. Ian S

    Actually, a ragu made from onion, celery and carrot is very Bolognese and true to the roots of the original, Italian dish. Zucchini isn’t…

  9. Pierpaolo D'Aimmo

    Thin spaghetti shouldn’t be used here.
    Thick spaghetti or better if you buy some “tagliatelle” made with eggs.
    You can make this pasta at home very easily, I did many times and the final result is much better.
    But don’t call this “Bolognese”. Not because I’m a proud Italian, but because the real “Bolognese” recipe has been registered with the Bologna Chamber of Commerce. Just call it “meat sauce” or “ragΓΉ”.
    And don’t call it “world’s best” if you make it the quick and easy way.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bolognese_sauce#Classic_Bolognese_Rag.C3.B9_according_to_the_Accademia_Italiana_della_Cucina.2C_1982

  10. Christian

    Pierpaolo,

    Too funny… “And don’t call it “world’s best” if you make it the quick and easy way.”

    The quick and easy part is exactly what makes it the world’s best. HAHAHA.

    -C

  11. Jake Howard

    Absolutely delicious. I spent an afternoon on my day off making it-not hard, but it needs time to simmer. I’ve made this twice now, once earlier this week for my boyfriend, and again today for Mother’s Day for my mom. I’ve had Bolognese at quite a few restaurants before but this is my favorite rendition of it. Really, really good. I’ll definitely make this again!

  12. danwarne Post author

    Thanks for the feedback Jake! Glad you’re enjoying it :-> I made a double batch the other day which ended up providing 15 frozen serves and we had it for lunch and dinner for several days…!

  13. Eryn Mills

    looks god nomnomnomnomnom delicious it was sooo good i’ll eat anything even you sooo watch out i know where you live
    nomnomnomnom that’s the sound of me eating you

Leave a Reply

