Telstra’s PR minder lays into me

Well, it’s been an interesting couple of days — I wrote a fairly innocuous story about how a number of online polls run by Telstra showed embarrassing results for the telco, and that triggered an avalanche of angry emails from one of their PR minders.

I’ve written up the extraordinary dialogue on apcmag.com as a followup.

The guy, Rod Bruem, accused me of being involved in rigging the poll results, or knowing who did, being ‘dishonest’ because I didn’t give him a headsup that I was writing the story (I had contacted him in advance to get some basic info about the Telstra website in question but didn’t lay the whole story out for him because I didn’t need any further information and also assumed Telstra would stand behind its own research data) and that I wasn’t a journalist (full stop.)

All I can say is that this “PR” guy needs to really needs to drink a nice cup of STFU (though I suppose I should thank him for giving me a great followup story.)

As one of my colleagues observed, in recent years, Telstra seems to have missed the fundamental principle that you catch more flies with honey than you do with vinegar… (and yes, for the purposes of the equation, I am the fly in Telstra’s ointment.)

14 Replies to “Telstra’s PR minder lays into me”

  1. Don’t worry about it Dan, Rod Bruem and the Telstra gang probably doesn’t realise it, but they have little or no credibiltiy with the majority of people.

    Lets just hope at some point in the near future they realise this fact and stop behaving like scolded children, not holding my breath!

  2. Don’t worry about it Dan, Rod Bruem and the Telstra gang probably doesn’t realise it, but they have little or no credibiltiy with the majority of people.

    Lets just hope at some point in the near future they realise this fact and stop behaving like scolded children, not holding my breath!

  3. Heh..yeah well…I am sure you will somehow survive and await his next crushing blow 😉

  4. Heh..yeah well…I am sure you will somehow survive and await his next crushing blow 😉

  5. Given the absolute PR catastrophe this has been, and still is judging by their now “secure” poll results, I think you’ve had the last laugh Dan.

  6. Given the absolute PR catastrophe this has been, and still is judging by their now “secure” poll results, I think you’ve had the last laugh Dan.

  7. as far as im concerned telstra is nothing more then a fraudulant company they took money from my disability pension each fortnight THEN LOST IT! so im the 1 having to pay $100 a week so the all mighty telstra doesnt miss out well thanks beacuse now im left with $35 to live for the next 4 weeks so thanks telstra i think id rather be dead then be pushed around and bullied into giving them all my money.

  8. as far as im concerned telstra is nothing more then a fraudulant company they took money from my disability pension each fortnight THEN LOST IT! so im the 1 having to pay $100 a week so the all mighty telstra doesnt miss out well thanks beacuse now im left with $35 to live for the next 4 weeks so thanks telstra i think id rather be dead then be pushed around and bullied into giving them all my money.

Leave a Reply

