Text rendering problem on Firefox for Mac

Anyone else have this problem with text rendering on Firefox for Mac? As you can see, the antialiasing is seriously screwed up on the right side of this text. Highlighting the text removes the problem, but when unhighlighted the uneven font weight returns.

The original page is at Crackberry.com but when I just switched back to that tab in Firefox just then, the problem has cleared. (Upon refreshing the page, the problem returned.)

picture-3

39 Replies to “Text rendering problem on Firefox for Mac”

  1. Strange – I’ve replicated this problem a few times on my 20″ iMac running Firefox as well (and somehow thought it was a “just me” problem). Don’t seem to have the issue with any any other computer/browser combination….have you ever seen this elsewhere?

    Curious to hear if there is a known cause for this (so I can get it fixed!). Will escalate to IT to have a look at regardless now that I know two people have this problem! 🙂

  2. Strange – I’ve replicated this problem a few times on my 20″ iMac running Firefox as well (and somehow thought it was a “just me” problem). Don’t seem to have the issue with any any other computer/browser combination….have you ever seen this elsewhere?

    Curious to hear if there is a known cause for this (so I can get it fixed!). Will escalate to IT to have a look at regardless now that I know two people have this problem! 🙂

  3. It’s this sort of thing that keeps me from moving away from Safari on the Mac. I’m a long-time devotee of Firefox on Windows, but the Mac version just seems really flakey in comparison.

  4. It’s this sort of thing that keeps me from moving away from Safari on the Mac. I’m a long-time devotee of Firefox on Windows, but the Mac version just seems really flakey in comparison.

  5. This ‘feature’ has been frustrating me for ages… ages and ages and ages!

    I’m in a similar position to Andrew, but I decided long ago to cop some text problems in exchange for an all-round better browser.

    The worst, though, is when you’re trying to type in WordPress or Google Documents — it’s near impossible!

    LG.

  6. This ‘feature’ has been frustrating me for ages… ages and ages and ages!

    I’m in a similar position to Andrew, but I decided long ago to cop some text problems in exchange for an all-round better browser.

    The worst, though, is when you’re trying to type in WordPress or Google Documents — it’s near impossible!

    LG.

  7. So then I take it crackberry.com isn’t the only site where this has happened?? Any reasoning for why it happens and known fix?? My developer kinda thought I was nuts when I showed it to him…

  8. So then I take it crackberry.com isn’t the only site where this has happened?? Any reasoning for why it happens and known fix?? My developer kinda thought I was nuts when I showed it to him…

  9. Have been incredibly annoyed by the same problem – although it seemed to arrive only with the most recent Firefox update. Resolving the system font duplicates as described in the post mentioned by Rush looks like it’s fixed the problem.

  10. Have been incredibly annoyed by the same problem – although it seemed to arrive only with the most recent Firefox update. Resolving the system font duplicates as described in the post mentioned by Rush looks like it’s fixed the problem.

  11. I think this is a similar problem – when I create a link in the body copy, that link kind of bunches up with the word prior to it in Firefox. Anyone know what that’s about? Also in certain spots the paragraph is cut on the right side.

  12. I think this is a similar problem – when I create a link in the body copy, that link kind of bunches up with the word prior to it in Firefox. Anyone know what that’s about? Also in certain spots the paragraph is cut on the right side.

  13. i seem to have a similar problem with a webpage I’m working on. There is a left navigation menu with drop down links controlled by CSS. Every time the drop down link is rolled over, the text to the right seems to get darker and fuzzier. I tried managing duplicate fonts, but this didn’t seem to resolve anything.

  14. i seem to have a similar problem with a webpage I’m working on. There is a left navigation menu with drop down links controlled by CSS. Every time the drop down link is rolled over, the text to the right seems to get darker and fuzzier. I tried managing duplicate fonts, but this didn’t seem to resolve anything.

  15. WOW – thank you, Rush! This problem has been plaguing me since I switched to the Mac 6 weeks ago. It’s been painful and I’m SO HAPPY to have this fixed. Many thanks!

  16. WOW – thank you, Rush! This problem has been plaguing me since I switched to the Mac 6 weeks ago. It’s been painful and I’m SO HAPPY to have this fixed. Many thanks!

  17. We’ve run into this bug on several websites now.
    I wish mac firefox would fix this really really soon.
    It is a huge visual bug.
    Ugghhh.

    Amazing how you can even “fuzzy bold” parts of letters as you mouse over. insane.

    Anyone know a workaround until mozilla fixes the issue?

    thanks.

  18. We’ve run into this bug on several websites now.
    I wish mac firefox would fix this really really soon.
    It is a huge visual bug.
    Ugghhh.

    Amazing how you can even “fuzzy bold” parts of letters as you mouse over. insane.

    Anyone know a workaround until mozilla fixes the issue?

    thanks.

  19. Do you have Google Toolbar (or Google Notes) installed? Try disabling it from Tools -> Extensions. It caused this problem on both Macs I have but no problem with Linux.

  20. Do you have Google Toolbar (or Google Notes) installed? Try disabling it from Tools -> Extensions. It caused this problem on both Macs I have but no problem with Linux.

  21. The cause of this problem is now know and has been fixed in firefox 3. It is a byproduct of the fact that firefox 2 uses the quickdraw libraries for font rendering while firefox 3 uses quartz. Download Gran Paradiso and the problem is gone. still no workaround i know of other then browser upgrade.

  22. The cause of this problem is now know and has been fixed in firefox 3. It is a byproduct of the fact that firefox 2 uses the quickdraw libraries for font rendering while firefox 3 uses quartz. Download Gran Paradiso and the problem is gone. still no workaround i know of other then browser upgrade.

  23. Kiuze’s suggestions seems to have solved the problem on my Mac. I haven’t seen the half-bold screen since I turned the Google Toolbar off.

    Pity it’ll probably be a while before we see Firefox 3.

  24. Kiuze’s suggestions seems to have solved the problem on my Mac. I haven’t seen the half-bold screen since I turned the Google Toolbar off.

    Pity it’ll probably be a while before we see Firefox 3.

  25. I’m running into a problem that is similar though not exactly the same as what has been discussed in the above thread. Resolving duplicate fonts did not fix my issue.

    The problem I’m having occurs when I view pages on a web site that I am currently building, and it
    seems to only occur in Firefox on a Mac.

    When I pass the cursor over any link on a page, the link becomes boldfaced and stays boldfaced even if I move the cursor away from the link (I did not click the link). Also, if I scroll a section of the page up under the top of the window and then back out again, text within that section of the page becomes boldfaced–and it stays boldfaced until I refresh the page which returns all text as well as links to normal weight again.

    I will immensely appreciate any suggestions!

    Thanks,
    Susan

  26. I’m running into a problem that is similar though not exactly the same as what has been discussed in the above thread. Resolving duplicate fonts did not fix my issue.

    The problem I’m having occurs when I view pages on a web site that I am currently building, and it
    seems to only occur in Firefox on a Mac.

    When I pass the cursor over any link on a page, the link becomes boldfaced and stays boldfaced even if I move the cursor away from the link (I did not click the link). Also, if I scroll a section of the page up under the top of the window and then back out again, text within that section of the page becomes boldfaced–and it stays boldfaced until I refresh the page which returns all text as well as links to normal weight again.

    I will immensely appreciate any suggestions!

    Thanks,
    Susan

  27. Susan,

    In an update to my above post, I discovered a solution to the issue on my machine. Perhaps something similar will be of use to you. I was experiencing this problem regularly. I uninstalled the duplicate fonts, but it didn’t resolve the problem. Looking into it further I read a hint about removing the preinstalled google toolbar. So I disabled and removed the preinstalled google toolbar, and that did resolve the problem. Sweet relief for my poor eyes. Ironically I downloaded and installed the latest google toolbar from the google site, and the problem did not return. Also as mentioned, Firefox 3.0 does not suffer from this issue, and is an easier “fix” for some. I’m personally testing in all browsers, so this was a constant annoyance when using CSS based styles in Firefox on Mac under seemingly random conditions. I hope this helps you in your search for a fix to your issue. Best of luck!

    Kind Regards,
    Josh

  28. Susan,

    In an update to my above post, I discovered a solution to the issue on my machine. Perhaps something similar will be of use to you. I was experiencing this problem regularly. I uninstalled the duplicate fonts, but it didn’t resolve the problem. Looking into it further I read a hint about removing the preinstalled google toolbar. So I disabled and removed the preinstalled google toolbar, and that did resolve the problem. Sweet relief for my poor eyes. Ironically I downloaded and installed the latest google toolbar from the google site, and the problem did not return. Also as mentioned, Firefox 3.0 does not suffer from this issue, and is an easier “fix” for some. I’m personally testing in all browsers, so this was a constant annoyance when using CSS based styles in Firefox on Mac under seemingly random conditions. I hope this helps you in your search for a fix to your issue. Best of luck!

    Kind Regards,
    Josh

  29. Josh, Thank you for taking the time to offer me a possible solution to this mystifying conundrum! I actually did not even have the Google Toolbar installed in my Firefox (2.0.0.14), so I installed the latest after I read your message. Alas, I’m still getting the unwanted boldfacing. Since I don’t see this on every site that I view in Firefox on the Mac, I just wonder if the problem lies in how I have coded “focus” and/or “active” link elements–but I don’t see anything unusual there either.

    Anyway, thanks again.
    Susan

  30. Josh, Thank you for taking the time to offer me a possible solution to this mystifying conundrum! I actually did not even have the Google Toolbar installed in my Firefox (2.0.0.14), so I installed the latest after I read your message. Alas, I’m still getting the unwanted boldfacing. Since I don’t see this on every site that I view in Firefox on the Mac, I just wonder if the problem lies in how I have coded “focus” and/or “active” link elements–but I don’t see anything unusual there either.

    Anyway, thanks again.
    Susan

  31. Suzan, the culprit is the google search toolbar that comes as part of Firefox. It is preinstalled for everybody and what allows the google search next to the url. Remove the google toolbar and the preinstalled google search bar and see if it helps.

  32. Suzan, the culprit is the google search toolbar that comes as part of Firefox. It is preinstalled for everybody and what allows the google search next to the url. Remove the google toolbar and the preinstalled google search bar and see if it helps.

Leave a Reply

