Miracles happen. There is a god.

So MediaConnect’s Kickstart conference on the Sunshine Coast started today. I’d elected to take the 8.20am flight, which boarded at 7.50am.

So last night, I set my Blackberry to wake me at 5am, so I could have a reasonably comfortable breakfast, shower and head off to the airport at 6.00.

Woke up at 7.10am. Blackberry alarm hadn’t fired because it was set to ‘weekday only’ mode. Threw myself out of bed in absolute panic and ran round the house like a blind man with his pants on fire.

Booked a taxi online using taxiscombined.com.au’s wonderful ‘later time’ feature… (if you book it for a few minutes from now, your request goes straight to the top of the taxi queue and you get one pretty much immediately.)

Taxi arrived at about 7.15am — I was still running out the door trying to squeeze my feet into my shoes. I had superhuman strength — carrying my suitcase felt completely effortless. Love adrenaline.

My brilliant taxi driver drove at 80 all the way and we got barely any lights.

We arrived at the airport at 7.35am. Miraculous!!

I rushed straight to the priority checkin queue … and then was stopped by two plain-clothes Australian Federal Police who wanted to question me. I felt like saying, “GUYS I’M GOING TO MISS MY PLANE” but held myself back because arguing with authority usually takes longer than just doing what they want you to do.

After some perfunctory questions: full name, date of birth, where I live, where I’m going, why I’m going and what I do, they let me go. Wonder if I’m on some international internet addict watchlist or something.

Rushed through the security gate. Miraculously did not bleep and did not have to remove my shoes and belt.

Got to the gatelounge with five minutes to spare … enough time for a banana bread, coffee and berocca. Ahh, life is good.

Managed to get an article done on the plane that’s due tomorrow.

Today, luck was on my side… or perhaps there is a god after all!

6 Replies to “Miracles happen. There is a god.”

  1. You were lucky considering I had to pay 70 bucks to get all the gear for the Media Centre up there – in fact, JetStar were going to charge me a whopping 240 bucks but the gentleman at the counter was ever so kind and said that he would only charge me 70.

    Well, at least I was able to get all the NetComm gear up there for the start of yet another successful KickStart event…

    I loved every minute, except the 4:34 that I presented. I thought I could’ve done much better.

  2. You were lucky considering I had to pay 70 bucks to get all the gear for the Media Centre up there – in fact, JetStar were going to charge me a whopping 240 bucks but the gentleman at the counter was ever so kind and said that he would only charge me 70.

    Well, at least I was able to get all the NetComm gear up there for the start of yet another successful KickStart event…

    I loved every minute, except the 4:34 that I presented. I thought I could’ve done much better.

  3. You came across fine! You appeared confident and your jokes worked. One always feels super-critical of one’s public speaking efforts afterwards… it’s natural.

  4. You came across fine! You appeared confident and your jokes worked. One always feels super-critical of one’s public speaking efforts afterwards… it’s natural.

Leave a Reply

