I’m now the proud owner of a Honda Civic

Well, if you’re going to test GPS navigation devices (my new obsession; last year it was wireless broadband) you’ve gotta have the appropriate testbench, right?

I reckon I got a fantastic deal on this car: $2300 for a 1990 Honda Civic in near-pristine condition. The couple that sold it to me were really nice, honest, non-car-sharkey people and had the service manuals and original purchase receipt for the car from when they bought it new!

The KMs are a little high at 250,000, but several of my friends’ cars have higher KMs and they’re still driving along fine with regular servicing.

Honda Civic 1990

I bought without getting an NRMA check because Civics don’t hang around on the market — I had already been beaten to two others. However, I followed my friend Dave’s advice and checked the oil for signs of milkyness (indication of a cracked head gasket) and ran through the other things on the RTA “How to buy a car guide” checklist. It all seemed fine.

Hope I didn’t miss that the automatic transmission is dragging along the bitumen, or anything fundamental like that. However, for a $2300 car, I wouldn’t be the least bit upset if I found something that was reasonably expensive to fix — Honda Civics of this era sell for up to $4000 (admittedly they’re probably the more optimistic car yards that are expecting the price to be bargained down.)

All I care about at this stage is that it accellerates damn gutsily for a little car, the brakes work well, the power steering is schmicko for an old car and the aircon works.

Of course, the very first thing I checked was that the cigarette lighter (now more politically correctly called “accessory adaptor”) worked, allowing me to charge GPS devices and iPod adaptors.

The inbuilt Honda-supplied 1990-era stereo is remarkably good considering its age. It’s loud, clear, and while the bass is pissant on the scale of a doof-doof car, it’s perfectly fine for listening to Nova on the way to work in the morning, which presumably is exactly what it was designed for.

The steering wheel is quite worn (the rubber comes away in granules in your hand if you don’t handle it carefully, so I’ve ordered one of these genuine tophide leather wheelskins in black which I reckon should be pretty nice to steer with.

Honda Civic 1990 rear

Honda Civic 1990 back 3/4

Honda Civic 1990 front

Honda Civic 1990 from back seat

14 Replies to “I’m now the proud owner of a Honda Civic”

  1. Very good score! Civics can be great little all-round cars, and as you’ve noticed, surprisingly gutsy. Cheap to run and repair, both in terms of labour and parts. And this one is white, so it matches your iPod.

    Just don’t ever let us catch you driving around with three friends and all ofyou singing along to ‘Bohemian Rhapsody’ (cv: Wayne’s World).

  2. Very good score! Civics can be great little all-round cars, and as you’ve noticed, surprisingly gutsy. Cheap to run and repair, both in terms of labour and parts. And this one is white, so it matches your iPod.

    Just don’t ever let us catch you driving around with three friends and all ofyou singing along to ‘Bohemian Rhapsody’ (cv: Wayne’s World).

  3. Hah πŸ™‚ I can assure you my choice of a white car had nothing to do with it matching my iPod…

    … because I own a black Nano.

    … boom tish.

    But seriously, anyone who chose their car based on their iPod has sold their soul to Steve.

  4. Hah πŸ™‚ I can assure you my choice of a white car had nothing to do with it matching my iPod…

    … because I own a black Nano.

    … boom tish.

    But seriously, anyone who chose their car based on their iPod has sold their soul to Steve.

  5. Hey, I chose a powder blue iPod Mini because it nearly perfectly matched the blue in a suite and tie I’d just bought… that may make me a fashion victim, but happily doesn’t mean I gave Steve the deed to my iSoul (actually, I tried to sell it to Microsoft but didn’t have the right activation key).

  6. Hey, I chose a powder blue iPod Mini because it nearly perfectly matched the blue in a suite and tie I’d just bought… that may make me a fashion victim, but happily doesn’t mean I gave Steve the deed to my iSoul (actually, I tried to sell it to Microsoft but didn’t have the right activation key).

  7. Goddamn! I’ve never watched “Pimp my Ride” before. That’s craaayyzeee!!

    It’s kinda creepy how excited that girl gets at her new Lhamborginized Civic.

    “OK, we got the 17″ tyres here…”
    “-scream- omg they’re so purdy!”

    And then when the “chair starts massaging [her] butt”…

    … but then they spoil everything by pointing out that lilac is her grandma’s favourite colour.

    Nice watching, thanks for that Craig!

  8. Goddamn! I’ve never watched “Pimp my Ride” before. That’s craaayyzeee!!

    It’s kinda creepy how excited that girl gets at her new Lhamborginized Civic.

    “OK, we got the 17″ tyres here…”
    “-scream- omg they’re so purdy!”

    And then when the “chair starts massaging [her] butt”…

    … but then they spoil everything by pointing out that lilac is her grandma’s favourite colour.

    Nice watching, thanks for that Craig!

Leave a Reply

