Lexmark e120n: 20ppm mono laser printer with networking for $163.94 NEW

LexmarkE120n

Is it normal to get this excited about a laser printer?

I’ve had my eye on the Lexmark e120n for some time now, and I ordered it on a whim a couple of days ago. (I got mine through EnByte because it looked like a reputable online store and had cheap delivery.)

I received it at work today and when I got it home, I unpacked and installed it in three minutes flat while my lasagna was reheating in the microwave. (Home cooked by Kate, special treat for me, no McCains in sight here…)

Anyway, the e120n is a 20ppm mono laser printer with an ethernet print server built in!

So I’ve connected it up to my Billion ADSL modem/router and now I can print wirelessly from anywhere in the house.

It also supports OS X beautifully, appearing automatically in my list of printers via Bonjour automatic network discovery technology. OS X didn’t have a driver for it but the included CD from Lexmark had the driver for OS X 10.2, 10.3 and 10.4. Seriously impressive!

And then there’s the fact that unlike most ultra-cheap printers, the toner cartridges for this AREN’T overly expensive. They go for $89.60 at ITParadise. (Sure, the cartridges are only rated for 2000 pages at 5% coverage, which makes the prints expensive at 4.5c each compared to most laser printers, but I’d be lucky to go through 2000 pages in four years. I mainly use the printer to print out forms and online purchase receipts.)

The lack of a screen on the printer isn’t too much of a downside because it comes preconfigured to get a network address automatically via DHCP, and when it is first powered up after getting a new network address, it prints out a page telling you what address has been assigned to it. Then you can type that IP address into your web browser and configure the printer entirely using a web-admin interface!

Browsing through the web-admin interface, I can see that the cartridge that comes with the printer has a capacity of “0.5K” which I assume means 500 pages. Well, it’s no worse than inkjet printer makers and their starter cartridges. And you could hardly expect a full $89 cartridge as part of a $164 printer!

The ONLY downside that I can see is that it only has a low capacity paper tray… 150 pages. But if you were churning through 150 pages on a regular basis, you’d probably want to spring for the next model up, anyway.

I tell you, it’s a stereotype that home users want colour photo printers. They’re a pain in the ass. They never have networking built in, the paper feeds are forever fouling up, the ink cartridges are extremely expensive, they’re slow, and there’s a non-specific karmic frustration related to the fact that they print pages line by line rather than a whole page at a time.

Props to Lexmark for bringing out such a totally great value printer for a geek like me who wants network printing at a low cost with pages shot out fast. And for supporting Mac OS X comprehensively.

Lexmark e120n price search on StaticICE

40 thoughts on “Lexmark e120n: 20ppm mono laser printer with networking for $163.94 NEW

  1. Asim Esen

    I bought a E120 (not E120n)whose CD came with the E120n driver. Unfortunately, the E120 will not work with Mac OS X 10.4.8 on my MacBook Pro. Epson or anybody else does not have a E120 driver for Mac OS X (I wonder why not?). Do you or anyone else know a way of making the E120 work with my MacBook?

    Thanks,

    A. Esen

  2. Asim Esen

    I bought a E120 (not E120n)whose CD came with the E120n driver. Unfortunately, the E120 will not work with Mac OS X 10.4.8 on my MacBook Pro. Epson or anybody else does not have a E120 driver for Mac OS X (I wonder why not?). Do you or anyone else know a way of making the E120 work with my MacBook?

    Thanks,

    A. Esen

  3. Jonboylondon

    I’ve just bought a E120 too – and can’t get it to work with OSX 10.3.9 so if anyone can help out I’d be grateful too

  4. Jonboylondon

    I’ve just bought a E120 too – and can’t get it to work with OSX 10.3.9 so if anyone can help out I’d be grateful too

  5. danwarne

    For anyone having trouble printing under OS X 10.4.8… Rendezvous does seem like it might have a problem. The workaround is to press the button on the front of the printer and get a print-out of the network configuration. Note the IP address of the printer, then go into System Preferences > Printers > Add Printer > IP Printer > Line Printer Daemon (LPD) > type the IP address of the printer into the “address” field.

    OS X should auto-detect that it’s a Lexmark e120N and you should be back to printing again.

  6. danwarne Post author

    For anyone having trouble printing under OS X 10.4.8… Rendezvous does seem like it might have a problem. The workaround is to press the button on the front of the printer and get a print-out of the network configuration. Note the IP address of the printer, then go into System Preferences > Printers > Add Printer > IP Printer > Line Printer Daemon (LPD) > type the IP address of the printer into the “address” field.

    OS X should auto-detect that it’s a Lexmark e120N and you should be back to printing again.

  7. Rodrigo

    La opcion de JOHNYZ funciono, perfectamente.

    La opcion de DANWARNE, no me funcionó debido a que no pude obtener la direccion IP de la impresora.

    Ahora mi LEXMARK E120(non network version) funciona de maravilla. Gracias.

  8. Rodrigo

    La opcion de JOHNYZ funciono, perfectamente.

    La opcion de DANWARNE, no me funcionó debido a que no pude obtener la direccion IP de la impresora.

    Ahora mi LEXMARK E120(non network version) funciona de maravilla. Gracias.

  9. Asim Esen

    Has anyone tried the Lexmark 4076 driver to print with the Lexmark E120 as suggested by Johnyz? My E120 is in another country, I cannot try now. Please let us here what your experience is with the the 4076 driver.
    Thanks

  10. Asim Esen

    Has anyone tried the Lexmark 4076 driver to print with the Lexmark E120 as suggested by Johnyz? My E120 is in another country, I cannot try now. Please let us here what your experience is with the the 4076 driver.
    Thanks

  11. ESMP

    THANK YOU RODRIGO!!! IT WORKED!!! Now I can print with this piece of crap!

    Thank you very much!

  12. ESMP

    THANK YOU RODRIGO!!! IT WORKED!!! Now I can print with this piece of crap!

    Thank you very much!

  13. Asim Esen

    Can Rodrigo or ESMP translate what Rodrigo said to English for those of who are lingustically challenged?

    Thanks

  14. Asim Esen

    Can Rodrigo or ESMP translate what Rodrigo said to English for those of who are lingustically challenged?

    Thanks

  15. danwarne

    Here’s Rodrigo’s comment run through an online Spanish to English translator (with a few tidy-ups by me):

    The advice from JohnnyZ worked perfectly.

    The advice from DanWarne didn’t work for me because I could not obtain the direct IP of the printer.

    Now my Lexmark E120 (non network version) works wonderfully. Thanks.

    [nb – note from me – the IP address info will only work on networked versions of the printer — e.g. the e120n.]

  16. danwarne Post author

    Here’s Rodrigo’s comment run through an online Spanish to English translator (with a few tidy-ups by me):

    The advice from JohnnyZ worked perfectly.

    The advice from DanWarne didn’t work for me because I could not obtain the direct IP of the printer.

    Now my Lexmark E120 (non network version) works wonderfully. Thanks.

    [nb – note from me – the IP address info will only work on networked versions of the printer — e.g. the e120n.]

  17. filippo

    grazie Danwarne! Confermo che la soluzione del guteprint 5.0 con mac os 10.4.9 funziona perfettamente per gestire una E120 collegata a macbook intel

  18. filippo

    grazie Danwarne! Confermo che la soluzione del guteprint 5.0 con mac os 10.4.9 funziona perfettamente per gestire una E120 collegata a macbook intel

  19. danwarne

    For those who don’t speak Italian, Filippo writes:

    “Thanks Danwarne! I can confirm that the solution of Gutenprint 5.0 with Mac OS 10.4.9 works perfectly with an E120 connected to an Intel Macbook.”

  20. danwarne Post author

    For those who don’t speak Italian, Filippo writes:

    “Thanks Danwarne! I can confirm that the solution of Gutenprint 5.0 with Mac OS 10.4.9 works perfectly with an E120 connected to an Intel Macbook.”

  21. Gudrunowitsch

    Hi, I downloaded Gutenprint but the manual requires an awful lot of technical understanding which I simply lack having. I don’t know how to access the logs etc. I would be very grateful for any help!

  22. Gudrunowitsch

    Hi, I downloaded Gutenprint but the manual requires an awful lot of technical understanding which I simply lack having. I don’t know how to access the logs etc. I would be very grateful for any help!

  23. Pinpon

    May the solution for OS X 4.9 works, but it dosen’t with X 4.10. somebody know how can i make it work ?

  24. Pinpon

    May the solution for OS X 4.9 works, but it dosen’t with X 4.10. somebody know how can i make it work ?

  25. Asim Esen

    I could not get my Lexmark E120 work with Gutenprint 5.0. I got an error message with Mac OS X 4.9. I would appreciate it if someone posts what one should do step by step to get this printer (E120) to work with GutenPrint and Mac OS X 4.9 or 4.10. If it is too long for posting, one may send a link to a pdf file for downloading.

  26. Asim Esen

    I could not get my Lexmark E120 work with Gutenprint 5.0. I got an error message with Mac OS X 4.9. I would appreciate it if someone posts what one should do step by step to get this printer (E120) to work with GutenPrint and Mac OS X 4.9 or 4.10. If it is too long for posting, one may send a link to a pdf file for downloading.

  27. Brent

    I have to use an E120n with a system 9.22 G4 mac.
    Does anyone know a workaround for manual duplex printing on the Mac?

  28. Brent

    I have to use an E120n with a system 9.22 G4 mac.
    Does anyone know a workaround for manual duplex printing on the Mac?

Leave a Reply

