Telstra censors critical comment on its blog

UPDATE | Telstra’s Rod Bruem has contacted me and says he is ‘not sure what happened to [that] comment’ and suggested I resubmit it.


UPDATE | Telstra has modified Rod Bruem’s blog post and removed the gratuitous ‘ja’.


For the last week or so, I’ve been engaged in an interesting debate with Telstra PR staffer Rod Bruem, “Editor in Chief” of Telstra’s blog NowWeAreTalking.

He posted a snide attack on telecommunications analyst Paul Budde, but what really amazed me was a quote from Budde he included which drew attention to Budde’s Dutch origins.

He was also telling anyone who’d listen that FTTN wasn’t needed anyway, “nobody else in the world was doing it, ja?”

The article called for responses, so I posted:

So what do I think? I think mocking Paul Budde’s dutch origins — “nobody else in the world was doing it, ja?” — is a weak-minded way of arguing a case. Next time you want to lash out at someone who expresses frustration with the all-American approach taken by Telstra’s management team, you’d better bite your tongue and remember that you guys have used the race card when it suited you.

Bruem’s response was, in part: “Oh C’mon Dan! I know you work for a PC Magazine, but do you have to be so seriously PC?” and then he justified his comment by the fact that a lot of people had called Telstra CEO Sol Trujillo and his management team “amigos”.

Another person, posting under an incomplete name, said that I’d missed the point of the article completely.

My response:

“Paul H: I didn’t miss the point of the article. I was just astonished that a professional corporate spokesman would introduce racial mockery into what constitutes an official corporate statement. It suggested to me that Rod had lost his professional discipline as a corporate spokesman. Maybe he is getting carried away with his sense of self importance as “Editor in Chief” of a blog.”

Bruem responded:

“Dan, in case you hadn’t noticed I’m taking a break from the corporate spokesman role to edit this website so the views freely expressed here aren’t official company lines. I completely rejct your assertion that my comment was racist. It certainly wasn’t intended to be. If you took it that way and you’re offended then I’m sorry for you. As you’re obviously a self-appointed expert on the subject, I now expect you to police all those people referring to the Mexican Bandit, ‘Amigos” and similar. If you have already then I’m sorry I missed it.”

However, my final comment submitted to the debate was deleted [or never displayed], presumably by Rod “Editor in Chief” Bruem.

I attempted to post a comment along the lines of:

“Rod, if you think that a Telstra blog, operated on a domain owned by Telstra and run by Telstra staff is not comment that is legally bound to Telstra, then you’ve been given bad advice. I wasn’t offended by the post. It’s not about me; it’s about you and your role as a professional corporate spokesman.You could have just said Budde had said “nobody else in the world was doing it” and that would have supported your case factually, but instead you appended a Dutch word to the end of the comment. Why?”

But the comment never appeared. [I emailed Rod to ask whether he’d be displaying that comment and got no reply.]

I asked Paul Budde what he thought and he commented: “I think it is very sad that Telstra needs to sink so low in trying to get their message across.”

“Telstra needs its own site to lash out at its critics as the rest of the country, press, commentators, etc. [discussing the issue] in a more democratic fashion apparently don’t agree with them. They are even prepared to pay an employee to do their bashing and it looks to me that many of its employees then add their bits to it as well. Strange way of talking to the rest of the country.”

When Telstra launched NowWeAreTalking it made a big show of the fact that it respected all stakeholders’ input and wouldn’t censor based on opinion. Now, when Telstra says it has “changed the conversation with NowWeAreTalking”, I can’t help wondering if it means it literally.

62 Replies to “Telstra censors critical comment on its blog”

  1. Well dan.

    As starting member of Whirlpool I would have thought you would be quite aware of the vagries of an internet chat forum.

    And comments getting deleted willy nilly.

    Yet, you are complaining about an over moderated forum run by telstra. Yet, the forum you also still reguraly post on does the same.

    Quite strange.

    Your comments in your blog really seem quite childish.

    Don’t like your comments being deleted in forum. Don’t post.

    For to long you have been used to being somebody on Whirlpool. When on another forum-telstra’s- you are a nobody you get mad.

    Grow up.

  2. Well dan.

    As starting member of Whirlpool I would have thought you would be quite aware of the vagries of an internet chat forum.

    And comments getting deleted willy nilly.

    Yet, you are complaining about an over moderated forum run by telstra. Yet, the forum you also still reguraly post on does the same.

    Quite strange.

    Your comments in your blog really seem quite childish.

    Don’t like your comments being deleted in forum. Don’t post.

    For to long you have been used to being somebody on Whirlpool. When on another forum-telstra’s- you are a nobody you get mad.

    Grow up.

  3. Michael — I don’t have a problem with comments being deleted if they breach a moderation policy such as being abusive, using foul language, defamatory, etc. However my concern was that a calm and reasoned comment that was critical of Telstra’s behaviour hadn’t been posted.
    Back when Now We Are Talking was launched, Telstra was adamant that it wouldn’t censor based on opinion.

  4. Michael — I don’t have a problem with comments being deleted if they breach a moderation policy such as being abusive, using foul language, defamatory, etc. However my concern was that a calm and reasoned comment that was critical of Telstra’s behaviour hadn’t been posted.
    Back when Now We Are Talking was launched, Telstra was adamant that it wouldn’t censor based on opinion.

  5. michael is spot on. dan ‘the man’ can dish it out but not take it! sooky lalaa got his comments deleted, better go cry to mummy dan! JA???????

  6. michael is spot on. dan ‘the man’ can dish it out but not take it! sooky lalaa got his comments deleted, better go cry to mummy dan! JA???????

  7. r u being smart? just because I did not compete in big debates like you with lots of other competitors and you always won. That makes you the ‘mass debating’ champion dan! JA????

  8. r u being smart? just because I did not compete in big debates like you with lots of other competitors and you always won. That makes you the ‘mass debating’ champion dan! JA????

  9. LOL! Such sophisticated humour, Robbo. No I wasn’t in the debating team at school either. I was just reflecting on the purile nature of your humour — certainly not the words of someone who has learned to learn restrained, fact-based argument, but rather someone who has only ever achieved the lofty heights of schoolyard jeering.

  10. LOL! Such sophisticated humour, Robbo. No I wasn’t in the debating team at school either. I was just reflecting on the purile nature of your humour — certainly not the words of someone who has learned to learn restrained, fact-based argument, but rather someone who has only ever achieved the lofty heights of schoolyard jeering.

  11. danny boy, all jokes aside (as obviously I aoutwit you hands down) I am starting to wonder what your problem is and now I realise: it is JEALOUSY. you are pissed off that hardly anyone visits your insanely boring blog yet we get thousands of hits a day on now where talking. your jealousy is further compunded by the fact that T sponsors now where talking where as APC leave you to your own devices. Don’t APC realise they are nothing without dan the man? JA you should resign and come work for T – we would pay top dollar for a man of your stunning intellect and appearance. JA.

  12. danny boy, all jokes aside (as obviously I aoutwit you hands down) I am starting to wonder what your problem is and now I realise: it is JEALOUSY. you are pissed off that hardly anyone visits your insanely boring blog yet we get thousands of hits a day on now where talking. your jealousy is further compunded by the fact that T sponsors now where talking where as APC leave you to your own devices. Don’t APC realise they are nothing without dan the man? JA you should resign and come work for T – we would pay top dollar for a man of your stunning intellect and appearance. JA.

  13. Hehe another insightful analysis Robbo. “YOR JUST JELAOUS!”

    Next you’ll be coming out with “I know you are, you said you are, so what am I?”

    (For the record I couldn’t care less if only two people a day visit my blog… it’s not a publishing venture, it’s just a personal record for fun/family/friends. As for APC leaving me to my own devices while Telstra “sponsors” Now We Are Talking… APC already pays me well, and Telstra doesn’t “sponsor” NWAT, the public relations team runs it!)

  14. Hehe another insightful analysis Robbo. “YOR JUST JELAOUS!”

    Next you’ll be coming out with “I know you are, you said you are, so what am I?”

    (For the record I couldn’t care less if only two people a day visit my blog… it’s not a publishing venture, it’s just a personal record for fun/family/friends. As for APC leaving me to my own devices while Telstra “sponsors” Now We Are Talking… APC already pays me well, and Telstra doesn’t “sponsor” NWAT, the public relations team runs it!)

  15. don’t be so hasty danny boy we will pay big $$$ for a man of your movie star looks and internationally recognised intellect. give us a call.

  16. don’t be so hasty danny boy we will pay big $$$ for a man of your movie star looks and internationally recognised intellect. give us a call.

  17. Robbo, GTFO.

    The downfall of Telstra is inevitable, and you fucking know it.

    Enjoy the low value of your worthless shares, you Telstra shareholder scum.

  18. Robbo, GTFO.

    The downfall of Telstra is inevitable, and you fucking know it.

    Enjoy the low value of your worthless shares, you Telstra shareholder scum.

  19. I don’t think he’s just a Telstra shareholder, I think he’s Telstra staff! His early comments were posted via the Telstra corporate proxy.

  20. Well, judging from “Robbo”‘s comments, it appears his intelligence level reaches the same depths as the average short-sighted Telstra shareholder (ie. low).

    Telstra can only profit from the general public’s (ie. mums and dads) stupidity for so long. Like I said, people will wake up, and when they do, Telstra’s downfall is inevitable. The death of Telstra can’t come soon enough.

    Back on topic: NowWeAreTalking.com is a useless circle-jerk propaganda device who’s main aim is to attempt to improve share value via spinning all negative comments into a positive light while ignoring the real issues.

    “NowWeAreTalking”? NowWeAreTalkingShit more like it.

    Disclaimer: I do not work for Telstra (obviously) nor am I affiliated with any of Telstra’s competitors. I am merely a consumer who will never recommend Telstra’s products to ANYONE. I’m sure I am not alone.

  21. Well, judging from “Robbo”‘s comments, it appears his intelligence level reaches the same depths as the average short-sighted Telstra shareholder (ie. low).

    Telstra can only profit from the general public’s (ie. mums and dads) stupidity for so long. Like I said, people will wake up, and when they do, Telstra’s downfall is inevitable. The death of Telstra can’t come soon enough.

    Back on topic: NowWeAreTalking.com is a useless circle-jerk propaganda device who’s main aim is to attempt to improve share value via spinning all negative comments into a positive light while ignoring the real issues.

    “NowWeAreTalking”? NowWeAreTalkingShit more like it.

    Disclaimer: I do not work for Telstra (obviously) nor am I affiliated with any of Telstra’s competitors. I am merely a consumer who will never recommend Telstra’s products to ANYONE. I’m sure I am not alone.

  22. Dear Anonymous – please contact me rtg159@hotmail.com I would like to talk to you seriously about your inappropriate language and attitude. You are obviously a ‘tuff guy’ to put swear words on the internet so why not meet me and lets find out how tough you really are?

  23. Dear Anonymous – please contact me rtg159@hotmail.com I would like to talk to you seriously about your inappropriate language and attitude. You are obviously a ‘tuff guy’ to put swear words on the internet so why not meet me and lets find out how tough you really are?

  24. danny boy, NextG is here. looks like you and Paul ‘JA’ Budde now have egg all over your funny faces. Carrying on with your silly conspiracy theories and Plan Bs. I have waited for weeks to publicly laugh at you when NextG went ATL during the GF. hahahahaha you both are a couple of know all know nothings.

  25. danny boy, NextG is here. looks like you and Paul ‘JA’ Budde now have egg all over your funny faces. Carrying on with your silly conspiracy theories and Plan Bs. I have waited for weeks to publicly laugh at you when NextG went ATL during the GF. hahahahaha you both are a couple of know all know nothings.

  26. Hi Danny,

    Just to clarify, is it the word “Ja” that you find offensive, or do you believe it is offensive to be Dutch? If you find the word Ja offensive perhaps you need to study the language a little more…

    On the other hand if you think it is offensive for someone to be Dutch I would like to request that you stop being so racist.

    I was born in Australia, and as such am proud to be known as an “Aussie”. When I travel overseas people often say things like “G’Day Mate” to me because I’m an Aussie. I’m not upset by it because it fills me with pride, so why are you saying it’s an insult to be known as Dutch?

    Shame on you.

  27. Hi Danny,

    Just to clarify, is it the word “Ja” that you find offensive, or do you believe it is offensive to be Dutch? If you find the word Ja offensive perhaps you need to study the language a little more…

    On the other hand if you think it is offensive for someone to be Dutch I would like to request that you stop being so racist.

    I was born in Australia, and as such am proud to be known as an “Aussie”. When I travel overseas people often say things like “G’Day Mate” to me because I’m an Aussie. I’m not upset by it because it fills me with pride, so why are you saying it’s an insult to be known as Dutch?

    Shame on you.

  28. I find neither the word “ja” nor being Dutch offensive.

    What I found offensive was that when quoting an industry analyst, a Telstra spokesman deliberately drew attention to the analyst’s country of origin by appending a Dutch word to the end of a quote.

    Anyway, I think the issue has been dealt with satisfactorily and I think we can move on now… nothing more to see here.

  29. I find neither the word “ja” nor being Dutch offensive.

    What I found offensive was that when quoting an industry analyst, a Telstra spokesman deliberately drew attention to the analyst’s country of origin by appending a Dutch word to the end of a quote.

    Anyway, I think the issue has been dealt with satisfactorily and I think we can move on now… nothing more to see here.

  30. A blog should be open to critism and comments, unless the comment is noticably a spam and/or offensive comment.

    I guess Telstra found the ‘critical comment’ too offensive for it to stay.

  31. A blog should be open to critism and comments, unless the comment is noticably a spam and/or offensive comment.

    I guess Telstra found the ‘critical comment’ too offensive for it to stay.

  32. Robbo, wanting to fight someone on the basis of a few comments on an blog is without doubt the height of stupidity. The type of stupidity that fits right in at telstra at the moment.

  33. Robbo, wanting to fight someone on the basis of a few comments on an blog is without doubt the height of stupidity. The type of stupidity that fits right in at telstra at the moment.

  34. I think its downright sad that Robbo and Michael J are both playing the man instead of the issue at hand.

    They both have nothing to say to cover up the fact that the Telstra Spokesperson screwed up in a quite deliberate fashion and instead are just trying to bash Dan for it.

    Grow up guys.

  35. I think its downright sad that Robbo and Michael J are both playing the man instead of the issue at hand.

    They both have nothing to say to cover up the fact that the Telstra Spokesperson screwed up in a quite deliberate fashion and instead are just trying to bash Dan for it.

    Grow up guys.

  36. hey danny – i saw u on tv last night bagging telstra. you sure are a funny guy, but don’t worry – looks aren’t everything! !!

  37. hey danny – i saw u on tv last night bagging telstra. you sure are a funny guy, but don’t worry – looks aren’t everything! !!

  38. who is this dimitri character? what is his problem? did I tell him to get back to cooking souvas? NO, so why attack me?

  39. who is this dimitri character? what is his problem? did I tell him to get back to cooking souvas? NO, so why attack me?

  40. hey danny,i bet you wish you had as many subscribers to yoursilly mag as we hav on the nextG netwrok??? JA, then you could afford some well needed cosmetic surgery.

  41. hey danny,i bet you wish you had as many subscribers to yoursilly mag as we hav on the nextG netwrok??? JA, then you could afford some well needed cosmetic surgery.

  42. Telstra top 10 positive achievements January/February 2007
    1. Financial performance better than guidance in first half fiscal 2007

    • Earnings before interest and tax (EBIT) declined 15.7 per cent, better than the expected 17 to 20 per cent fall detailed in the T3 prospectus and previous guidance.
    • Lifted full year reported revenue guidance to growth of 2.5 to 3% (up from previous expectation of a 1.5 to 2% rise) and reported EBIT guidance to growth of 3 to 5% (up from previous expectation of a 2 to 4% rise).

    2. Winning where it matters: 3G

    • Topped one million 3G subscribers in a record 16 months.
    • Total Next G™ subscribers reached 415,000 in mid-February.
    • On track for leadership in 3G SIOs by May 2007.
    • 3G average revenue per user (ARPU) $20/month higher than for 2G customers.
    • Mobile data revenues strengthened, driven by significant use of applications and content since the Next G™ launch.

    3. Winning where it matters: retail broadband

    • Continued adding customers at three times the rate of our nearest competitor.
    • Increased market share one percentage point to 45 per cent.
    • Surpassed 200,000 retail wireless broadband subscribers.
    • Maintained average revenue per user for broadband subscribers.

    4. Next Gâ„¢ network leads the world

    • Upgraded the network to offer speeds up to 14.4Mbps .
    • Boosted cell range up to 200km (at selected sites).
    • Next G™ network now the world’s fastest and geographically biggest national wireless network.

    5. Changed the momentum in fixed line business (PSTN)

    • Using market based management, continued to slow the decline of PSTN revenues to 5.6 per cent for the half-year, compared with a 7.6 per cent drop in the first half of fiscal 2006.
    • Gained residential market share since October 2006, the first time since competition began that we have had positive residential churn from competitors.
    • Forty per cent of consumer base now on 2 or more Telstra products.
    • Thirteen per cent rise in customers using three or more Telstra products.

    6. Winning where it matters: Foxtel

    • Subscribers up 10%.
    • Revenue growth of 15%.

    7. Improved service

    • Reduced ADSL broadband held orders by more than 80 per cent from 19,300 in September 2005, despite increasing order volumes.
    • Meeting more than 90% of our appointments and completing 97% of PSTN service calls on the first attempt.
    • Achieved highest customer satisfaction performance on record for Telstra Enterprise and Government.
    • Big Pond rated #1 in survey on email and telephone customer experience.

    8. Online businesses fuel growth at Sensis

    • New Media revenues grew by 68% in the half-year.
    • Usage across all sites increased 21%.
    • Emerging businesses such as SouFun,1234, Media Smart and Whereis are driving much of the growth
    • SouFun continued triple digit revenue and earnings growth.
    • Sensis on track for double digit revenue and double digit EBIT growth at full year.

    9. BACK Telstra

    • Launched the Broadband Australia Campaign (BACK Telstra), a grassroots effort to send a clear message to Government and regulators that backward-looking regulation should not get in the way of Telstra investing in infrastructure that will deliver high-speed broadband and a stronger economy.
    • Staff, shareholders, customers and everyone who supports faster broadband are encouraged to get active. For more information go to nowwearetalking.com.au

    10. High Court Constitutional Challenge

    • Launched a High Court challenge to the telco specific access regime, Part XIC of the Trade Practices Act, on the basis that it does not guarantee Telstra’s shareholders fair or “just terms” compensation for the compulsory acquisition of the last mile of copper by competitors as required by the Australian Constitution. Under Part XIC, the ACCC mandates prices for last mile copper services known as ULL and LSS that are below cost.

  43. Telstra top 10 positive achievements January/February 2007
    1. Financial performance better than guidance in first half fiscal 2007

    • Earnings before interest and tax (EBIT) declined 15.7 per cent, better than the expected 17 to 20 per cent fall detailed in the T3 prospectus and previous guidance.
    • Lifted full year reported revenue guidance to growth of 2.5 to 3% (up from previous expectation of a 1.5 to 2% rise) and reported EBIT guidance to growth of 3 to 5% (up from previous expectation of a 2 to 4% rise).

    2. Winning where it matters: 3G

    • Topped one million 3G subscribers in a record 16 months.
    • Total Next G™ subscribers reached 415,000 in mid-February.
    • On track for leadership in 3G SIOs by May 2007.
    • 3G average revenue per user (ARPU) $20/month higher than for 2G customers.
    • Mobile data revenues strengthened, driven by significant use of applications and content since the Next G™ launch.

    3. Winning where it matters: retail broadband

    • Continued adding customers at three times the rate of our nearest competitor.
    • Increased market share one percentage point to 45 per cent.
    • Surpassed 200,000 retail wireless broadband subscribers.
    • Maintained average revenue per user for broadband subscribers.

    4. Next Gâ„¢ network leads the world

    • Upgraded the network to offer speeds up to 14.4Mbps .
    • Boosted cell range up to 200km (at selected sites).
    • Next G™ network now the world’s fastest and geographically biggest national wireless network.

    5. Changed the momentum in fixed line business (PSTN)

    • Using market based management, continued to slow the decline of PSTN revenues to 5.6 per cent for the half-year, compared with a 7.6 per cent drop in the first half of fiscal 2006.
    • Gained residential market share since October 2006, the first time since competition began that we have had positive residential churn from competitors.
    • Forty per cent of consumer base now on 2 or more Telstra products.
    • Thirteen per cent rise in customers using three or more Telstra products.

    6. Winning where it matters: Foxtel

    • Subscribers up 10%.
    • Revenue growth of 15%.

    7. Improved service

    • Reduced ADSL broadband held orders by more than 80 per cent from 19,300 in September 2005, despite increasing order volumes.
    • Meeting more than 90% of our appointments and completing 97% of PSTN service calls on the first attempt.
    • Achieved highest customer satisfaction performance on record for Telstra Enterprise and Government.
    • Big Pond rated #1 in survey on email and telephone customer experience.

    8. Online businesses fuel growth at Sensis

    • New Media revenues grew by 68% in the half-year.
    • Usage across all sites increased 21%.
    • Emerging businesses such as SouFun,1234, Media Smart and Whereis are driving much of the growth
    • SouFun continued triple digit revenue and earnings growth.
    • Sensis on track for double digit revenue and double digit EBIT growth at full year.

    9. BACK Telstra

    • Launched the Broadband Australia Campaign (BACK Telstra), a grassroots effort to send a clear message to Government and regulators that backward-looking regulation should not get in the way of Telstra investing in infrastructure that will deliver high-speed broadband and a stronger economy.
    • Staff, shareholders, customers and everyone who supports faster broadband are encouraged to get active. For more information go to nowwearetalking.com.au

    10. High Court Constitutional Challenge

    • Launched a High Court challenge to the telco specific access regime, Part XIC of the Trade Practices Act, on the basis that it does not guarantee Telstra’s shareholders fair or “just terms” compensation for the compulsory acquisition of the last mile of copper by competitors as required by the Australian Constitution. Under Part XIC, the ACCC mandates prices for last mile copper services known as ULL and LSS that are below cost.

  44. Arrgh I hope that was just some well meaning Telstra customer cutting and pasting from Telstra’s astroturf lobbying site… hopefully Telstra’s lobbying squad isn’t going out there and polluting blogs with cut and paste spam.

  45. Arrgh I hope that was just some well meaning Telstra customer cutting and pasting from Telstra’s astroturf lobbying site… hopefully Telstra’s lobbying squad isn’t going out there and polluting blogs with cut and paste spam.

  46. I have had enough of dealing with Telstra, they make out I’m the only one having the problems: I know I’m not, yet they just think that they answer to nobody.

    Dealing with TELSTRA

    Surfing here is easier, than with telstra and its’ deceitful practices!

    2009 Customer Comments report FREE

    Telstra Big Pond (Deceptive Practices)

    Is it true that because of the constant drop outs and fragility of ADSL II due to noise suppression intolerance, as well as not delivering anywhere near the service speeds implied in marketing, that Telstra is revoking ADSL 1 from all subsidiary dealerships and companies, instead offering ADSL II. Also is it true that as people complain about their ADSL 1 drop out with less than expected and quoted speeds being available that in (good faith) (LOL]; Telstra is offering to cancel their service agreements at no cost? Due to the fact, that it is costing approximately $10,000.00 per client to maintain, or “so Telstra claims. This being the case, why did Telstra not take up on fibre-optic when recommended by the then, opposition, Rudd government and when in fact, it is a better and more secure / reliable, and therefore cost affective option. Why has Telstra not offered for a technician to come out and analyze the system i.e. phones, faxes and filters, etc., to try to rectify where the problem lies? Equally, why has Telstra not explained at any stage about a duo core system which we are currently using, for information transfer through their phone lines? i.e. and inner and outer core capable of using both, for the transfer of information such as the internet, nor in fact, that this would be impeded by having duet lines? Why doesn’t Telstra in its service agreements and contract agreement fully disclose its limitations when affording its contracts and services to customers and thus profiting from their infringements? If these are only but a few of the infringements Telstra flagrantly chooses to ignore passing on to its customers and share holders; what other surprises (deceitful practices) lie under the Persian carpet. Also, what about the support for only 2 computers in a networked house where you can communicate from all the home and not providing support for XP Service pack 3 issues? Hopefully you are fully aware of the fact that; Telstra now being a private company, it can preclude itself from government protection from the likes of a massive class action being brought upon it unless it discloses in full and rectifies all issues relating to their deceptive practices, before being affronted by the media; both commercial and WEB: Telstra may very well be best served by referring to its own code of practice and service agreements.

    Telstra’s very busy, now it’s a private company 0_~

    TELSTRA DECEIT

  47. I have had enough of dealing with Telstra, they make out I’m the only one having the problems: I know I’m not, yet they just think that they answer to nobody.

    Dealing with TELSTRA

    Surfing here is easier, than with telstra and its’ deceitful practices!

    2009 Customer Comments report FREE

    Telstra Big Pond (Deceptive Practices)

    Is it true that because of the constant drop outs and fragility of ADSL II due to noise suppression intolerance, as well as not delivering anywhere near the service speeds implied in marketing, that Telstra is revoking ADSL 1 from all subsidiary dealerships and companies, instead offering ADSL II. Also is it true that as people complain about their ADSL 1 drop out with less than expected and quoted speeds being available that in (good faith) (LOL]; Telstra is offering to cancel their service agreements at no cost? Due to the fact, that it is costing approximately $10,000.00 per client to maintain, or “so Telstra claims. This being the case, why did Telstra not take up on fibre-optic when recommended by the then, opposition, Rudd government and when in fact, it is a better and more secure / reliable, and therefore cost affective option. Why has Telstra not offered for a technician to come out and analyze the system i.e. phones, faxes and filters, etc., to try to rectify where the problem lies? Equally, why has Telstra not explained at any stage about a duo core system which we are currently using, for information transfer through their phone lines? i.e. and inner and outer core capable of using both, for the transfer of information such as the internet, nor in fact, that this would be impeded by having duet lines? Why doesn’t Telstra in its service agreements and contract agreement fully disclose its limitations when affording its contracts and services to customers and thus profiting from their infringements? If these are only but a few of the infringements Telstra flagrantly chooses to ignore passing on to its customers and share holders; what other surprises (deceitful practices) lie under the Persian carpet. Also, what about the support for only 2 computers in a networked house where you can communicate from all the home and not providing support for XP Service pack 3 issues? Hopefully you are fully aware of the fact that; Telstra now being a private company, it can preclude itself from government protection from the likes of a massive class action being brought upon it unless it discloses in full and rectifies all issues relating to their deceptive practices, before being affronted by the media; both commercial and WEB: Telstra may very well be best served by referring to its own code of practice and service agreements.

    Telstra’s very busy, now it’s a private company 0_~

    TELSTRA DECEIT

Leave a Reply

