MacBook Pro envy

macbookproMy friend and colleague Tim Gaden has just bought himself a MacBook Pro for work. I am, of course, not the slightest bit envious.

He writes in his post about it, “Repairing permissions on the old one took 118 seconds for a 54GB hard drive. This one does 92GBs in 62 seconds. I’m a happy boy.”

See, that is what we really need; a computer that can repair the faults in its file system twice as fast. I’m not sour. Oh no.

It reminds me of the Intel Australia launch of the Core Duo CPU I went to recently. Their real-life, on-stage example of why you should upgrade to a Core Duo was because you could virus-scan a giant PowerPoint presentation while encoding video at the same time with no slowdown.

I hung my head in shame that the PC industry had reached the stage that faster virus scanning had become a selling point for a PC.

That said, it did give me a sort of sanctimonious-bastard sense of satisfaction a Mac zealot gets because he doesn’t have to run any anti-virus at all.

See, it doesn’t matter that my relatively new PowerBook runs on a bog-slow, outdated G4 processor. I don’t have to do virus scanning. Though it does sometimes frustrate me how long it can take to repair permissions.

Oh wait.

6 thoughts on “MacBook Pro envy

  1. canion

    I’m so excited about these MacBooks, and I’ve never even owned a Mac before! But something about them brings an excitement I haven’t felt since Workbench on the Amiga 500. I have every intention getting a 17″ MacBook soon after they start shipping.

  2. Andrew

    I’m so excited about these MacBooks, and I’ve never even owned a Mac before! But something about them brings an excitement I haven’t felt since Workbench on the Amiga 500. I have every intention getting a 17″ MacBook soon after they start shipping.

  3. Rob Irwin

    Yeah, that demo was just weird…

    “Imagine, folks, that it’s Friday afternoon and you want to leave the office… but the virus scanner comes on! Oh, and you’re encoding en episode of Dad’s Army at the same time… even though you want to rush out of the office… er…”

  4. Rob Irwin

    Yeah, that demo was just weird…

    “Imagine, folks, that it’s Friday afternoon and you want to leave the office… but the virus scanner comes on! Oh, and you’re encoding en episode of Dad’s Army at the same time… even though you want to rush out of the office… er…”

Leave a Reply

