Brushing shoulders with the PM

127893598_c549800102.jpg

Who should I brush shoulders with on the way to work this morning but Australian Prime Minister John Howard, on the way in to the Australian Wheat Board / Iraq corrupt kickbacks inquiry. Of course I didn’t literally brush shoulders with him. Before I could do that, a man in a black suit and dark glasses politely came up to me and asked me who I was with. When I politely disclosed that I was a journalist but really just on my way to work and hanging around for my own interest and to catch a cameraphone image of the PM, he politely told me to please move back behind the white line, sir.

(Click the picture for the whole photoset, including a blurry shot of a protester being body-slammed by about 20 police at once and being hurled into the back of a paddy wagon.)

richie_benaud_180_150x180And then if seeing John Howard on the way to work wasn’t enough excitement, as I was ordering my morning coffee from Nick and Gina at the bottom of Stockland House in Castlereagh St, who should walk past but Richie Benaud.

I almost walked after him and asked if I could get a camera phone pic with him to complete the photographic essay of my amazing walk to work, but then I thought, “don’t be a tosser, Dan… Richie probably hasn’t had his morning coffee yet either. Give the man a break.”

12 Replies to “Brushing shoulders with the PM”

  1. Great stories, Dan! I know Anna has mentioned seeing Tony Greig a few times at Stockland House. Maybe Rich was heading up for a few sherbets with him.

  2. Great stories, Dan! I know Anna has mentioned seeing Tony Greig a few times at Stockland House. Maybe Rich was heading up for a few sherbets with him.

  3. And, I’ll add something else, actually. What a bloody tops country we live in where the PM can actually walk down the street with minimal security (yes, I think half a dozen security guys and a phalanx of cops is minimal for the head of a country). I mean, you just walked up, Dan, and could — literally — have been anyone. You could have had a weapon. You could have thrown a cream pie. Whatever. I’m really proud of Australia when I think of things like this, and compare it to how it would be handled, overseas.

  4. And, I’ll add something else, actually. What a bloody tops country we live in where the PM can actually walk down the street with minimal security (yes, I think half a dozen security guys and a phalanx of cops is minimal for the head of a country). I mean, you just walked up, Dan, and could — literally — have been anyone. You could have had a weapon. You could have thrown a cream pie. Whatever. I’m really proud of Australia when I think of things like this, and compare it to how it would be handled, overseas.

  5. My closest personal brush with political fame was standing next to Gough Whitlam in the gents at Her Majesty’s Theatre. But _definitely_ no cameraphone involved there!

  6. My closest personal brush with political fame was standing next to Gough Whitlam in the gents at Her Majesty’s Theatre. But _definitely_ no cameraphone involved there!

  7. Does Richie really look about 137 years old up close?

    Was he wearing a beige, off white, cream coloured jacket?!

    What a morning!

  8. Does Richie really look about 137 years old up close?

    Was he wearing a beige, off white, cream coloured jacket?!

    What a morning!

  9. Yes, I must say Richie -did- look old. He sort of had a vacant look on his face too. He was walking down the road looking into the middle distance. (Admittedly, it’s not that surprising that he didn’t recognise me 😉

    He wasn’t wearing a bone coloured jacket, but rather a light blue one. The off-white must be reserved for the commentary box.

  10. Yes, I must say Richie -did- look old. He sort of had a vacant look on his face too. He was walking down the road looking into the middle distance. (Admittedly, it’s not that surprising that he didn’t recognise me 😉

    He wasn’t wearing a bone coloured jacket, but rather a light blue one. The off-white must be reserved for the commentary box.

Leave a Reply

