Why Mac Mini sucks, or rather, it doesn’t

MacWorld in the US has posted a great analysis of why you shouldn’t assume the new Mac Mini is crap simply because Apple has bumped up the price and included an ‘inferior’ Intel GMA950 integrated graphics chip.

Personally, I want one of these to use at work. No, the graphics won’t be powerful enough to run Vista in its full ‘glory’, but won’t most of us want to turn off most of the visual effects once we realise that they don’t add anything much to Windows’ usability? And besides I’d rather run OS X and use ACP’s Citrix server to access Outlook.

My only problem is one Java application that is core to our editorial/production workflow that we use at work, which DOES come in a Mac version but isn’t made available from the IT people 😦

15 thoughts on “Why Mac Mini sucks, or rather, it doesn’t

  1. Susan Semenick

    I hate both my mac mini’s. The first was a solo, it ran so slow, I could count to 8 with 1000’s in between to open an application. I returned it, and, unfortunately, decided to try the duo. Two logic boards later, I still can’t hook up to the internet.

    What a waste!!! Then, I’ve learned that it’s not a good idea to use photoshop for mac on it… my main reason for buying it.

    They are having to write a universal binary to have it work OK with photoshop…. I’ll have to buy that…. what a crock!!!

    Apple won’t give me my $$ back either.

  2. Susan Semenick

    I hate both my mac mini’s. The first was a solo, it ran so slow, I could count to 8 with 1000’s in between to open an application. I returned it, and, unfortunately, decided to try the duo. Two logic boards later, I still can’t hook up to the internet.

    What a waste!!! Then, I’ve learned that it’s not a good idea to use photoshop for mac on it… my main reason for buying it.

    They are having to write a universal binary to have it work OK with photoshop…. I’ll have to buy that…. what a crock!!!

    Apple won’t give me my $$ back either.

  3. Captain Reality

    Hey Susan,
    You bought the slowest mac, and then complain that it’s slow. Riiiiight. What apps were you running. I’ve used Core Solo Mac Minis, and they seemed fine to me.
    Secondly, you’re saying that the logic boards of your new Mac Mini is stopping you connecting to the internet. I’d say you’ve most likely stuffed up your internet configuration.
    Third, of course you can run Photoshop for Mac on it. The PPC version of Photoshop will be a bit slow, but so what. By the way, it’s not Apple’s fault that Adobe haven’t provided you with a universal binary. Go and complain to Adobe if you want to complain to anyone.

    If I were Apple, I wouldn’t give you your money back. You bought their product, which seems to have nothing wrong with it. Whining about 3rd party software being slow, or some imprecise complaint about how you can’t connect to the internet is a bit meaningless.

  4. Captain Reality

    Hey Susan,
    You bought the slowest mac, and then complain that it’s slow. Riiiiight. What apps were you running. I’ve used Core Solo Mac Minis, and they seemed fine to me.
    Secondly, you’re saying that the logic boards of your new Mac Mini is stopping you connecting to the internet. I’d say you’ve most likely stuffed up your internet configuration.
    Third, of course you can run Photoshop for Mac on it. The PPC version of Photoshop will be a bit slow, but so what. By the way, it’s not Apple’s fault that Adobe haven’t provided you with a universal binary. Go and complain to Adobe if you want to complain to anyone.

    If I were Apple, I wouldn’t give you your money back. You bought their product, which seems to have nothing wrong with it. Whining about 3rd party software being slow, or some imprecise complaint about how you can’t connect to the internet is a bit meaningless.

  5. macmini

    i did a big mistake by purchasing mac mini. the internet connection sucks no matter wht browser you use. waste of my money. i am going to do a partition and install windows xp and see if that solves my internet connection speed.

  6. macmini

    i did a big mistake by purchasing mac mini. the internet connection sucks no matter wht browser you use. waste of my money. i am going to do a partition and install windows xp and see if that solves my internet connection speed.

  7. Captain Reality

    Insightful response, Dog Catcher. You should join a debating society.

    But Susan's asinine whining sounds like someone who has no idea about computers. I call bullshit on her assertion that applications take over 8 seconds to open.

    As for the latest retard, 'macmini', who apparently 'did a big mistake', well, what can I say to such incisive prose.

    I see dumb people… they're everywhere, and most of them don't even realise they're dumb. That's you, Dog Catcher (is that some kind of euphemism?) and 'macmini'.

  8. Captain Reality

    Insightful response, Dog Catcher. You should join a debating society.

    But Susan's asinine whining sounds like someone who has no idea about computers. I call bullshit on her assertion that applications take over 8 seconds to open.

    As for the latest retard, 'macmini', who apparently 'did a big mistake', well, what can I say to such incisive prose.

    I see dumb people… they're everywhere, and most of them don't even realise they're dumb. That's you, Dog Catcher (is that some kind of euphemism?) and 'macmini'.

  9. Vox

    I bought my first MacMini second hand when I was strapped for cash. It was refurbished and definately wasn't the top of the line model.Bottom line, I love it. I'm about to buy a brand new one now I have the cash.It's the best computer I've ever owned. It doesn't crash and I've never had hangups on it. It nevers fails or falters in any way and runs everything I need it to run without any problems. Internet is faster than any PC I've ever owned.iMac, uPC; iWin…

Leave a Reply

