Top 10 things all ‘switchers’ should know

startrekpanelFollowing up from my “Top 30 mistakes made by new Mac users” post (which has received a rather staggering 25143 views thanks to news/link aggregators like digg.com and del.icio.us) comes the Top 10 things all ‘switchers’ should know.

Scott Moschella, the guy behind Gimpshop (a version of the open-source image editor Gimp with a Photoshop-like interface grafted on top) has done a really great job here… the points are funny but true. For example:

You cannot make OS X look like a Startrek Control Panel (like the Windows XP theme shown above right).

Your choice of OS X themes are as follows.

Also, if you think you need anti-virus for your Mac, Scott would rather sell you some snake oil instead.

And… while defragging a Windows machine displays calming moving blocks that make a Windows user feel like everything’s being put back into its place and tidied up, you don’t need to do it at all on Mac.

It’s well worth a read… plasticbugs.com

4 Replies to “Top 10 things all ‘switchers’ should know”

  1. OK I’ll bite. First I want to start off not bragging but by saying in my Aspergery way. I am very smart, But the article made me feel really dumb, until I found out that parts of it were wrong. I don’t have two delete keys on my mac just one thank you. And since it is roughly in the same place as the backspace key, that has never been a problem, but I was sure looking forward to that other delete key

    My enter key and return key are both the same key. really it says enter and return but there is one key. on top of that there is another key that says enter only this one is next to the command key Is that supposed to be different. Logic says that it should if enter and return are different as you imply.

    I’m sorry but the end and home keys on my machine only move my cursor one space to the right or left. Like wise page up and page down only move up and down one line at a time. I have not set any preferences to make them work this way. Is this a flaw in my particular machine, It is a laptop. Do they act differently, If so your article should mention that. Don’t you think.

    I do use short cuts but and you will get a laugh out of this I think, I keep finding myself using my thumb in an attempt to right click on my track pad. I’m working on it. You see I am forced to use windows because I haven’t yet mastered the open source equivalents to my windows software. I am responsible for a database, several web pages, and graphics designs all ported with windows software.

    I really don’t understand the first 7 entries in your article. I’ve never done any of those with windows either. Don’t get me wrong I hate windows. I wish the whole world would wake up and see Bill Gates for what he really is, but all windows users aren’t stupid. Programs are run from short cuts, Program windows are closed when a program stops working, which admittedly happens way to often in windows, so maybe switchers have just come to expect it.
    IE, Firefox and Opera all have google search boxes, so doing it on a mac certainly could be a matter of personal choice. Besides google corrects your spelling for you. :-). Personal choice could also come into play when someone chooses to keep their programs in icon veiw. this is also available in windows. I can tell you have never been the victim of bifocal lag.

    Oh and I use firefox on both my macs and PCs so I refuse to look for the big E. Well I think I’ve made my point

    I can’t believe anyone would get me to ever defend windows. or at least windows users. Your article made you sound so stuck up and I don’t mean that like it sounds. I hate it when I see the beginnings of an apple/pc war starting on a forum. People are very emotional about their computers. I should talk I have 10 0f them. I bought my I book instead of shelling out $800.00 to get the AC fixed in my Van. Heck It’s only hot 3 months out of the year right?

    Mac users should be like the guy on the mac commercials, I think. he’s such a nice guy and ready to help his friend PC guy. He may use a PC at work but I bet he has a mac at home 🙂

    Hey one last thing what happened to the open apple & closed apple keys. Seeeeee Our first computer was an Apple 2 e. I wasn’t always a PC girl
    Have fun Play hard Bounce High
    Tiggerr

  2. OK I’ll bite. First I want to start off not bragging but by saying in my Aspergery way. I am very smart, But the article made me feel really dumb, until I found out that parts of it were wrong. I don’t have two delete keys on my mac just one thank you. And since it is roughly in the same place as the backspace key, that has never been a problem, but I was sure looking forward to that other delete key

    My enter key and return key are both the same key. really it says enter and return but there is one key. on top of that there is another key that says enter only this one is next to the command key Is that supposed to be different. Logic says that it should if enter and return are different as you imply.

    I’m sorry but the end and home keys on my machine only move my cursor one space to the right or left. Like wise page up and page down only move up and down one line at a time. I have not set any preferences to make them work this way. Is this a flaw in my particular machine, It is a laptop. Do they act differently, If so your article should mention that. Don’t you think.

    I do use short cuts but and you will get a laugh out of this I think, I keep finding myself using my thumb in an attempt to right click on my track pad. I’m working on it. You see I am forced to use windows because I haven’t yet mastered the open source equivalents to my windows software. I am responsible for a database, several web pages, and graphics designs all ported with windows software.

    I really don’t understand the first 7 entries in your article. I’ve never done any of those with windows either. Don’t get me wrong I hate windows. I wish the whole world would wake up and see Bill Gates for what he really is, but all windows users aren’t stupid. Programs are run from short cuts, Program windows are closed when a program stops working, which admittedly happens way to often in windows, so maybe switchers have just come to expect it.
    IE, Firefox and Opera all have google search boxes, so doing it on a mac certainly could be a matter of personal choice. Besides google corrects your spelling for you. :-). Personal choice could also come into play when someone chooses to keep their programs in icon veiw. this is also available in windows. I can tell you have never been the victim of bifocal lag.

    Oh and I use firefox on both my macs and PCs so I refuse to look for the big E. Well I think I’ve made my point

    I can’t believe anyone would get me to ever defend windows. or at least windows users. Your article made you sound so stuck up and I don’t mean that like it sounds. I hate it when I see the beginnings of an apple/pc war starting on a forum. People are very emotional about their computers. I should talk I have 10 0f them. I bought my I book instead of shelling out $800.00 to get the AC fixed in my Van. Heck It’s only hot 3 months out of the year right?

    Mac users should be like the guy on the mac commercials, I think. he’s such a nice guy and ready to help his friend PC guy. He may use a PC at work but I bet he has a mac at home 🙂

    Hey one last thing what happened to the open apple & closed apple keys. Seeeeee Our first computer was an Apple 2 e. I wasn’t always a PC girl
    Have fun Play hard Bounce High
    Tiggerr

  3. Holding down function and pressing delete is your second delete key.

    First time I've ever heard of an enter key beside a command/apple day. I've been using Macs for about ten years. My first Mac had an enter key, and a separate return key. Other than that there is only the one, but I don't doubt that holding down function while pressing it in some cases would change its function.

    Do you have an old machine that you upgraded?

    The home and end keys on my iMac G4 always take me to the beginning, and end of a document. I don't know why the keys on your computer would do otherwise.

    1. If you close an application window in Mac OS X. The application doesn't necessarily quit. In the cases where it doesn't quit you have to go to the dock to quit it. There are other ways to quit applications as well, but they a more technical. right-clicking and selecting quit in the dock is a typical way to quit applications. Command-Option-Escape is for when an application is not responding.

    2. When you download an application on mac OS X, you don't just open it in the window it pops up in, if the extension is .app. If the extension is .dmg, or .pkg opening the file in that window is just fine.

    When the extension is .App, you have to copy to where you want to install it (typically appliactions). You can do this by opening the folder – Command-Shift-A for applications – and dragging it into the folder you want to install it in.

    In windows the extension for programs/applications is .exe. In Mac OS X it is .app. If new Mac users don't figure this out initially, they may get confused and start downloading windows Apps which they don't have half a chance of using.

    To show file extensions:

    1. Go to Finder.app.

    2. Go to preferences in the finder menu, or hold down Command, and press comma(,).

    3. Go to advanced and select the Show All File Extensions checkbox.

    4. New Mac users often don't know how to rename files on a Mac. If they forget to name the files initially, or have a mouse-slip and call a folder Untitled Folder they think they are stuck with that folder.
    To rename a file, or Folder select it, and hit return.

    NOTE: Your short-name cannot be changed, but the Macintosh HD can be renamed.

    5.

    I don't think this is problem any more. Google search in older versions of Safari.app worked in an unusual way, I forget how it was, though.

    6.

    I think this must be general guideline for everyone, as I cannot see windows users confusing the screensaver, and the Desktop background.

  4. Holding down function and pressing delete is your second delete key.

    First time I've ever heard of an enter key beside a command/apple day. I've been using Macs for about ten years. My first Mac had an enter key, and a separate return key. Other than that there is only the one, but I don't doubt that holding down function while pressing it in some cases would change its function.

    Do you have an old machine that you upgraded?

    The home and end keys on my iMac G4 always take me to the beginning, and end of a document. I don't know why the keys on your computer would do otherwise.

    1. If you close an application window in Mac OS X. The application doesn't necessarily quit. In the cases where it doesn't quit you have to go to the dock to quit it. There are other ways to quit applications as well, but they a more technical. right-clicking and selecting quit in the dock is a typical way to quit applications. Command-Option-Escape is for when an application is not responding.

    2. When you download an application on mac OS X, you don't just open it in the window it pops up in, if the extension is .app. If the extension is .dmg, or .pkg opening the file in that window is just fine.

    When the extension is .App, you have to copy to where you want to install it (typically appliactions). You can do this by opening the folder – Command-Shift-A for applications – and dragging it into the folder you want to install it in.

    In windows the extension for programs/applications is .exe. In Mac OS X it is .app. If new Mac users don't figure this out initially, they may get confused and start downloading windows Apps which they don't have half a chance of using.

    To show file extensions:

    1. Go to Finder.app.

    2. Go to preferences in the finder menu, or hold down Command, and press comma(,).

    3. Go to advanced and select the Show All File Extensions checkbox.

    4. New Mac users often don't know how to rename files on a Mac. If they forget to name the files initially, or have a mouse-slip and call a folder Untitled Folder they think they are stuck with that folder.
    To rename a file, or Folder select it, and hit return.

    NOTE: Your short-name cannot be changed, but the Macintosh HD can be renamed.

    5.

    I don't think this is problem any more. Google search in older versions of Safari.app worked in an unusual way, I forget how it was, though.

    6.

    I think this must be general guideline for everyone, as I cannot see windows users confusing the screensaver, and the Desktop background.

Leave a Reply

